For some reason tonight I got in the mood to cook. What came of it you may ask? See the following:

Banana Bread
Incredibly simple ingredients. Baked to the recipe orders. Remembered to adjust for my oven’s temperature difference (300=350) and realized halfway through that the tray needed to be raised :/ But I think overall turned out well! Very easy to make!

Rewards of the banana bread recipe

Coleslaw
For some reason I really wanted coleslaw last week and in a moment of inspiration, decided to make it from scratch. I ended up making it from a combination of recipes, Mom’s Coleslaw” and Apple Coleslaw. The Nordstrom cafe makes some of the best coleslaw I’ve had, and they use either pear or apple, so I got the inspiration to do the same. I decided for some reason to switch to the mom’s coleslaw for the sauce and apple for the vegetables. The flavor seems to have turned out okay. I’ll have to see how it is tomorrow once it sets for a night.

Onigiri!

First onigiri!

My first attempt at onigiri. I might have gone a bit strong on the salt on some I fear. But I like salt so it’s all good 🙂 I attempted some shapes (cat and owl) via cookie cutters. I think they came out decently! Definitely a good learning experience. Very easy to make. Next time I want to experiment with fillings. Not ume.

